# WORLD TRADE

## **ORGANIZATION**

**G/IT/1/Rev.26** 22 January 2003

(03-0349)

**Committee of Participants on the Expansion of Trade in Information Technology Products** 

#### STATUS OF IMPLEMENTATION

### Note by the Secretariat<sup>1</sup>

#### Revision

1. As of 20 January 2003, the ITA had 42 participants (covering 57 Members and States or separate customs territories in the process of acceding to the WTO) representing approximately 93 percent of world trade in information technology products.

Albania	Georgia	Lithuania	Romania
Australia	Hong Kong, China	Macao, China	Separate Customs Territory
Bulgaria	Iceland	Malaysia	of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen,
Canada	India	Mauritius	and Matsu
Costa Rica	Indonesia	Moldova	Singapore
Croatia	Israel	New Zealand	Slovak Republic
Cyprus	Japan	Norway	Slovenia
Czech Republic	Jordan	Oman	Switzerland <sup>2</sup>
El Salvador	Korea	Panama	Thailand
Estonia	Kyrgyz Republic	Philippines	Turkey
European Communities <sup>3</sup>	Latvia	Poland	United States

2. If the participant was a WTO Member at the time of their participation in the ITA, they were required to follow the procedures for the formal rectification and modification of schedules (Decision of 26 March 1980 on Procedures for Modification and Rectification of Schedules of Tariff Concessions, BISD 27S/25) pursuant to paragraph 2 of the Annex to the Ministerial Declaration. Thus, documents from the following 30 participants have been received and circulated pursuant to these procedures:

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> This document has been prepared under the Secretariat's own responsibility and without prejudice to the positions of Members and to their rights and obligations under the WTO.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> On behalf of the customs union Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> The schedule of the European Communities comprises the commitments of the 15 member states.

AustraliaIndiaPhilippinesBulgariaIndonesiaPoland4CanadaIsraelRomania5Costa RicaJapanSingapore

Cyprus Korea Slovak Republic<sup>4</sup>

Czech Republic<sup>4</sup> Macao, China Slovenia
El Salvador Malaysia<sup>4</sup> Switzerland<sup>5</sup>
European Communities Mauritius Thailand<sup>4</sup>
Hong Kong, China New Zealand Turkey
Iceland Norway United States

Of the above, El Salvador has indicated that implementation would begin after the completion of domestic procedural requirements.<sup>6</sup> Panama has not yet submitted its formal documentation.

- 3. Albania, Croatia, Estonia, Georgia, Jordan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Oman, and the Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen, and Matsu incorporated their commitments in their schedules annexed to their Protocols of Accession, and therefore it was not necessary to follow the procedures for rectification and modification of tariff schedules.
- 4. Letters of acceptance, in accordance with the provision of paragraph 10 of the Annex to the Declaration, have been received from all participants except eight.
- 5. The following documentation, noted as being submitted under paragraph 2 above, has been formally certified by the Director-General:

Australia; Bulgaria; Canada; Costa Rica; Cyprus; Czech Republic; European Communities; Hong Kong, China; Iceland; India; Indonesia; Israel; Japan; Korea; Macao, China; Malaysia; Mauritius; New Zealand; Norway; Philippines; Poland; Romania; Singapore; Slovak Republic; Slovenia; Switzerland; Thailand; Turkey; United States.

\_\_\_\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> First rate reduction occurred on 1 January 1998.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> First rate reduction occurred on 31 December 1997.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup>Bulgaria, India, Israel, Philippines, Poland, Slovenia, Switzerland, and Turkey which had also made such a notification, have subsequently notified that these procedural requirements have been completed.