WORLD TRADE

ORGANIZATION

G/MA/NTM/QR/1/Add.10 28 March 2006

(06-1428)

Committee on Market Access

NOTIFICATIONS OF QUANTITATIVE RESTRICTIONS

Note by the Secretariat

Addendum

- 1. Following the Decision on Notification Procedures for Quantitative Restrictions, adopted by the Council for Trade in Goods (G/L/59), Members shall make complete notifications of the quantitative restrictions which they maintain by 31 January 1996 and at two-yearly intervals thereafter¹, and shall notify changes to their quantitative restrictions as and when these changes occur. Members which have made, under other WTO provisions, notifications of quantitative restrictions which fulfil the requirements for quantitative restriction notifications under the 1984 and 1985 decisions and which are up-to-date, shall notify the fact to the Secretariat. These notifications will be stored in the new database of quantitative restrictions.
- 2. According to the Decision, "the Secretariat shall publish periodically a document listing the WTO Members having made a notification. The Secretariat shall make available to Members, as and when requested, on paper or computer tape, detailed extracts of the quantitative restrictions data base. The notifications themselves shall be available for consultation in the Secretariat."
- 3. In addition to those Members listed in G/MA/NTM/QR/1, Add.1 Add.9, notifications of quantitative restrictions have also been received from the following Members:

Bulgaria (2003) Georgia (2003) Macedonia (2004) Oman (2004) Trinidad and Tobago (2004)

4. Notifications of changes to their quantitative restrictions were received by the following Members:

Bahrain (2004) China (2003); (2004) Chinese Taipei (2005) Hong Kong, China (2004) Japan (2005) Korea, Rep. of (2005) Macao, China (2004)(2005)

 $^{^{1}}$ By 31 January 1998, by 31 January 2000, by 31 January 2002, by 31 January 2004, by 31 January 2006.

Page 2

5. The following Members have notified that they do not maintain quantitative restrictions:

 Albania (2005)
 Qatar (2005)

 Armenia (2004)(2006)
 Sri Lanka (2003)

 Bangladesh (2006)
 Suriname (2004)

 Ghana (2004)
 Uganda (2005)

 Guyana (2003)
 Zimbabwe (2003)

Iceland (2004) Jordan (2004)

- 6. Members that have not yet not notified under the Decision contained in G/L/59 are urged to do so as soon as possible.
- 7. These notifications are available for Members' consultation in the Market Access Division (contact Mrs. Perrin, Room 3142, ext. 5041).