WORLD TRADE

ORGANIZATION

WT/REG307/N/1 10 February 2012

(12-0796)

Committee on Regional Trade Agreement

Original: English

NOTIFICATION OF REGIONAL TRADE AGREEMENT

2.	Date of notification: 9 February 2012
	Madagascar, Mauritius, Zimbabwe and the European Union
1.	Member(s) nothying:

3. Notification pursuant to

M ---- 1- --- (--) -- - 4°C----

- [X] Article XXIV:7(a) of GATT 1994
- [] Article V:7(a) of GATS
- [] Paragraph 4(a) of the Enabling Clause
- 4. Parties to the Agreement:

Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles, Zimbabwe, of the one part; and

Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Greece, Spain, France, Ireland, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovak Republic, Finland, Sweden, United Kingdom, Bulgaria, Romania and the European Union, of the other part.

- **5. Date of signature:** 29 August 2009
- **6.** Date(s) of entry into Force:

Provisional application of the Agreement by all signatory parties is expected by June 2012.

7. Brief description of the Agreement:

The Agreement establishes a free trade area for trade in goods, within the meaning of Article XXIV (8) (b) of the GATT 1994. This free trade area will be implemented over a transition period at the end of which duties and other restrictive regulations of commerce will have been eliminated on substantially all the trade between the Parties. The Agreement also contains provisions on Fisheries, Development cooperation provisions, a Dispute Settlement Mechanism as well as institutional provisions.

8. Text and related schedules, annexes and protocols are:

[] submitted to the WTO Secretariat (electronic format)

[X] available from the following official Internet link(s):

http://trade.ec.europa.eu/doclib/docs/2010/november/tradoc 147042.pdf