

4 May 2016

(16-2497) Page: 1/1

General Council 12 May - 13 May 2016

WTO PENSION PLAN MANAGEMENT BOARD ELECTION OF A MEMBER AND AN ALTERNATE

PROPOSAL BY THE CHAIRMAN OF THE GENERAL COUNCIL

- 1. Article 4 of the Regulations of the WTO Pension Plan provides for a Management Board comprising, *inter alia*, a Chairman, four members and four alternates elected by the General Council.
- 2. The Management Board is currently composed of the following persons elected by the General Council:

Chairman: Mr Johannes Rühl (Switzerland)

Members: Mr Till Gerards (Germany)

Mr Robert Prochazka (Austria)

Vacant

Mr Christopher Wilson (United States)

Alternates: Vacant

Ms Eunice Huang (Singapore)

Mr. Andrew Staines (United Kingdom)

Ms Junko Ueno (Japan)

3. I have been informed that the two vacancies are due to the fact that Mr. Felipe Sandoval and Mr James Baxter are no longer available to serve as Members on the Management Board. It is, therefore, necessary for the General Council to take a decision on their replacement. I would like to inform Members that the following representatives had kindly agreed to have their name put forward for election as a Member and alternate, respectively:

Mrs Alicia Goujon (Mexico)

Mr Ian Medcalf (Canada)

- 4. I would invite Members to submit any comments they might have regarding the proposed nomination to me by close of business on 4 May 2016. It is my intention to propose the above names for election to the Management Board at the General Council meeting on 12 May and 13 May 2016.
- 5. Delegations interested in serving on the WTO Pension Plan Management Board when future vacancies arise are invited to approach the Chair of the Board.