

15 July 2016

(16-3825) Page: 1/1

General Council 27 July – 28 July 2016

WTO PENSION PLAN MANAGEMENT BOARD ELECTION OF TWO MEMBERS AND TWO ALTERNATES

PROPOSAL BY THE CHAIRMAN OF THE GENERAL COUNCIL

- 1. Article 4 of the Regulations of the WTO Pension Plan provides for a Management Board comprising, *inter alia*, a Chairman, four members and four alternates elected by the General Council.
- 2. The Management Board is currently composed of the following persons elected by the General Council:

Chairman: Mr Johannes Rühl (Switzerland)

Members: Mr Robert Prochazka (Austria)

Mr Christopher Wilson (United States)

Vacant Vacant

Alternates: Ms Eunice Huang (Singapore)

Ms Junko Ueno (Japan)

Vacant Vacant

- 3. I had been informed that the four vacancies are due to the fact that Mr Andrew Staines, Mr. Felipe Sandoval, Mr James Baxter and Mr Till Gerards are no longer available to serve as Members on the Management Board. It is, therefore, necessary for the General Council to take a decision on their replacement.
- 4. In this regard, a fax was issued on 28 June by the WTOPP Chairman on my behalf informing Members that he would conduct consultations with regard to vacancies on the WTOPP Management Board and asked expressions of interest to be sent to him before 8 July. As a result of this process, the following names had been put forward for election as members and alternates, respectively:

Mrs Alicia Goujon (Mexico)

Mrs Eleni Patibouli (Greece)

Mr Ian Medcalf (Canada)

Mr Rodolfo Rivas (Israel)

5. I would invite Members to submit any comments they might have regarding the proposed nomination to me by close of business on 22 July 2016. It is my intention to propose the above names for election to the Management Board at the General Council meeting on 27 and 28 July 2016.