# WT/MIN(17)/SR/1



19 February 2018

(18-1068) Page: 1/2

Ministerial Conference Eleventh Session Buenos Aires, 10-13 December 2017

#### **SUMMARY RECORD OF THE OPENING SESSION**

HELD AT THE EXHIBITION CENTRE OF THE CITY OF BUENOS AIRES SUNDAY, 10 DECEMBER 2017 AT 4.15 P.M.

Chairperson: Her Excellency Ms Susana Malcorra (Argentina)

#### Subjects discussed:

1	WELCOMING REMARKS BY THE CHAIRPERSON	1
	PART 1 OF THE OPENING SESSION	
	Adoption of the Agenda	
	PART 2 OF THE OPENING SESSION	
	Address by the Director-General and Statements by Heads of State	

#### 1 WELCOMING REMARKS BY THE CHAIRPERSON

- 1.1. The <u>Chairperson</u> welcomed everyone to the Eleventh Session of the Ministerial Conference of the WTO and to Buenos Aires.
- 1.2. She thanked all Heads of Delegation and delegates for their presence. She also thanked Members for having entrusted Argentina to host MC11, and for having appointed her as the Chairperson of the Conference. She extended her gratitude to Uruguay for its cooperation in ensuring that the Eleventh Ministerial Conference could take place in Buenos Aires. She was also grateful to the three Vice Chairpersons of the Ministerial Conference who would assist her during the following days: H.E. Dr Okechukwu Enelamah of Nigeria; H.E. Mr David Parker of New Zealand and Mr Edward Yau of Hong Kong, China.
- 1.3. She briefly explained that the first part of the Opening Session would comprise the address by the Chairman of the General Council and the adoption of the agenda. In the second part of the Opening Session, the Ministerial Conference would welcome the Presidents of Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay and the envoys of the Presidents of Mexico, Colombia, Peru and Guyana. In this second part, the WTO Director-General would address the Ministerial Conference. Thereafter, the Presidents of Chile, Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay would address the Conference and the Presidential Declaration of MC11 would be signed. The session would then be concluded with remarks by the President of Argentina.

## **2 PART 1 OF THE OPENING SESSION**

- 2.1. The <u>Chairman of the General Council</u> and Permanent Representative of South Africa to the WTO, H.E. Mr Xavier Carim, then delivered an address (WT/MIN(17)/43).
- 2.2. The <u>Chairperson</u> thanked the General Council Chairman for the work he had done in Geneva and noted that the task had now been passed to her to advance with the negotiations.

## 2.1 Adoption of the Agenda

- 2.3. The <u>Chairperson</u> drew the attention to the Provisional Agenda for the Ministerial Conference in document WT/MIN(17)/W/1. In line with the Rules of Procedure for the Ministerial Conference, she proposed that the Agenda be adopted.
- 2.4. The Ministerial Conference adopted the following Agenda, as proposed in WT/MIN(17)/W/1:
  - 1. Overview of Activities of the WTO
  - 2. Action by Ministers
  - 3. Date and Venue of the Twelfth Session
  - 4. Election of Officers
- 2.5. The <u>Chairperson</u> reminded delegations that the Plenary Session would commence the following day at 10.00 am. In her function as Chairperson, she would deliver a statement and thereafter offer the floor to the Director-General. The Plenary Session would then continue with General Statements under Item 1 of the Agenda.
- 2.6. She wished the Ministerial Conference success, and invited all delegations to remain seated for the second part of the Opening Session.

#### **3 PART 2 OF THE OPENING SESSION**

## 3.1 Address by the Director-General and Statements by Heads of State

- 3.1. The <u>Director-General</u> delivered his address (WT/MIN(17)/45).
- 3.2. H.E. Mr. Jorge Faurie, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Worship of the Argentine Republic, read, on behalf of the Governments of Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Guyana, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname and Uruguay, the "Buenos Aires Declaration". The declaration was subsequently circulated in document WT/MIN(17)/53.
- 3.3. The special envoys of the Presidents of <u>Suriname</u> (H.E. Mr. Reggy Nelson, Permanent Representative of Suriname to the WTO), <u>Mexico</u> (H.E. Mr. Ildefonso Guajardo Villarreal, Secretary of Economy of Mexico), <u>Guyana</u> (H.E. Dr. John Ronald Dipchandra Ford, Permanent Representative of Guyana to the WTO) and <u>Colombia</u> (H.E. Ms Maria Lorena Gutierrez, Minister of Commerce, Industry and Tourism of Colombia) signed the declaration on stage. The representatives of <u>Chile</u> and <u>Peru</u> signed the declaration after the Opening Session.
- 3.4. The <u>President of the Republic of Chile</u>, H.E. Ms Michelle Bachelet, addressed the Ministerial Conference *via* video message (WT/MIN(17)/78).
- 3.5. The <u>President of the Oriental Republic of Uruguay</u>, H.E. Mr. Tabaré Vázquez, signed the declaration and addressed the Ministerial Conference (WT/MIN(17)/76).
- 3.6. The <u>President of the Republic of Paraguay</u>, H.E. Mr. Horacio Cartes Jara, also signed the declaration and addressed the Ministerial Conference (WT/MIN(17)/72).
- 3.7. The <u>President of the Federative Republic of Brazil</u>, H.E. Mr. Michel Temer, thereafter signed the declaration and addressed the Ministerial Conference (WT/MIN(17)/77).
- 3.8. Finally, the <u>President of the Argentine Republic</u>, H.E. Mr. Mauricio Macri, signed the declaration and addressed the Ministerial Conference (WT/MIN(17)/75).
- 3.9. The meeting adjourned at 5.50 p.m.