## GENERAL AGREEMENT ON TARIFFS AND TRADE

INF/78 19 January 1960

General Distribution

## MEMBERSHIP OF THE GENERAL AGREEMENT

The following sets out the present position regarding countries which are contracting parties to the General Agreement and countries which enjoy a status other than that of contracting party.

A. There are thirty-seven contracting parties:

Australia Austria Belgium Brazil Burma Canada Caylon Chile Cuba Czechoslovakia Denmark Dominican Republic Finland France Federal Republic of Germany Ghana Greece Haiti India Indonesia Italy Japan Luxemburg Federation of Malaya Kingdom of the Netherlands New Zealand Nicaragua Norway Pakistan Peru Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland Sweden Turkey Union of South Africa United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United States of America Uruguay

B. There are five countries which participate in the work of the CONTRACTING PARTIES:

Cambodie (under a Decision of 17 November 1958) Israel (under a Decision of 29 May 1959) Switzerland (under a Resolution of 22 November 1958) Tunisia (under a Decision of 8 November 1959) Yugoslavia (under a Declaration of 25 May 1959, which entered into force on 16 November 1959)

<u>Note</u>: It is expected that Cambodia, Israel and Tunisia will participate in the 1960/61 tariff conference with a view to subsequent full accession to the General Agreement. Israel, Tunisia and Switzerland have acceded provisionally.

C. At recent sessions the following countries have been represented by observers:

Afghanistan Iraq Philippines Argentina Poland Laos Bolivia Portugal Lebanon El Salvador Colombia Liberia Costa Rica Spain Libva Ecuador Mexico United Arab Republic Venezuela Iran Panama