WORLD TRADE

ORGANIZATION

G/SPS/GEN/1130 4 November 2011

(11-5612)

Committee on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures

Original: Spanish

ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE OF SENASA - NATIONAL AGRICULTURE AND FOOD HEALTH AND QUALITY SERVICE

Communication from Argentina

The following communication, received on 27 October 2011, is being circulated at the request of the delegation of <u>Argentina</u>.

I. INTRODUCTION

- 1. On 10 June 2010, Decree No. 825/2010 was issued, approving the new institutional structure of the National Agriculture and Food Health and Quality Service (SENASA) in order to optimize the management of this agency within the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries.
- 2. The Decree is designed to strengthen and consolidate the development of sanitary management through an operationally decentralized structure at the regional level. It accordingly establishes the National Directorate of Regional Operations, which is in charge of the programmes, plans and activities of the 14 regional centres, pursuant to a process initiated in 2006. The Directorate handles the functions of inspection, control, oversight, authorization, certification, supervision and classification of animals and plants, and products, by-products and derivatives of animal or plant origin linked to production.
- 3. Decree No. 825/2010 also provides for the establishment of the Directorates of Animal Health, Plant Protection, Agriculture and Food Safety and Quality, Technology and Administration, Legal Affairs, and Laboratories and Technical Supervision.
- 4. Provision has been made for the non-staff position of General Manager, who is tasked with assisting the governing bodies and facilitating decision-making to ensure that institutional management is conducted in line with the sanitary status achieved by Argentina.
- 5. The new structure provides for the establishment of an Advisory Council, whose members will be appointed by the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries on the basis of proposals from the represented bodies, and will sit for two years *ad honorem*. The Advisory Council will deliver opinions on issues submitted to it by the Minister of Agriculture and/or the head of the sanitary agency.
- 6. Pursuant to the National Government's policy decision to strengthen the role of the State in animal and plant health and agrifood safety and quality, the president of SENASA signed Resolution No. 805/2010 approving openings at the lower level, i.e. the second and third tiers of operation, of the agency's structure.

- 7. This measure brings the restructuring of SENASA to completion, a process which began last June with Presidential Decree No. 825/2010.
- 8. As a result of this measure, the reform and strengthening of SENASA, which are part of the process undertaken by the National Government to modernize the State, consolidate the agency's regionalization through the establishment of the Regional Centre Directorate (Standard), under the National Directorate of Regional Operations, and upgrades the 14 regional centres' general coordinating offices to regional directorates.
- 9. Furthermore, the area relating to agricultural chemicals, veterinary products and food is raised to the level of a National Directorate and the area relating to laboratories to a Directorate-General, with new areas of competency for both directorates.
- 10. The Resolution, which comprises three Articles and four annexes, establishes the purview of the Internal Auditing Unit, the six National Directorates (Animal Health; Plant Protection; Agriculture and Food Safety and Quality; Technology and Administration; Agricultural Chemicals, Veterinary Products and Food; and Regional Operations) and the Directorate-General of Laboratories and Technical Supervision. It also defines the activities of the directorates that make up each National Directorate and the Directorate-General of Laboratories and Technical Supervision.

II. ORGANIZATIONAL CHART PURSUANT TO DECREE NO. 805/2010

11. The organizational chart contained in Annex I of Decree No. 805/2010 is available in Spanish at: http://www.senasa.gov.ar/Archivos/File/File3857-orga-805b.jpg.

III. MISSION AND ACTIVITIES OF THE NATIONAL DIRECTORATE OF REGIONAL OPERATIONS (DNOR)

- 12. The National Directorate of Regional Operations is tasked with the following:
 - Carrying out the operational activities of control, oversight, authorization, closure and certification stipulated in the standards and technical regulations governing agri-food health, safety and quality at the regional level, for both the domestic market and external markets;
 - taking part in the operational activities relating to movements at the federal level, and imports and exports of live animals and their reproductive material, plant propagation material, products, by-products and derivatives of animal or plant origin, agri-food products, veterinary drugs, agrochemicals, fertilizers and soil conditioners;
 - overseeing the implementation of operational activities provided for in the plans, programmes and activities of SENASA at the regional level in order to ensure compliance with the applicable standards in the field of animal and plant health and agri-food safety and quality;
 - overseeing the inter- and intra-institutional activities of the Regional Centre and the dissemination of SENASA activities at the regional level;
 - representing SENASA in public- and private-sector national and regional organizations in its area of competency at the regional level;
 - promoting cooperation conventions and agreements with institutions and organizations to optimize the actions of the Regional Centre;

- drawing up and implementing the annual regional budget required for the functioning of the Regional Centre, as agreed with the relevant National Directorates and/or Directorates-General;
- issuing administrative acts in its areas of responsibility;
- supervising the technical and administrative management of the Regional Centre, taking corrective action where appropriate; and
- managing human resources within its jurisdiction.

IV. REGIONAL CENTRES

- 13. The 14 regional centres making up the National Directorate of Regional Operations are:
 - Metropolitano (Federal Capital and Buenos Aires conurbation);
 - Santa Fe;
 - Córdoba;
 - Buenos Aires South;
 - Buenos Aires North;
 - Patagonia South (Chubut, Santa Cruz and Tierra del Fuego);
 - Patagonia North (Neuquén and Río Negro),
 - La Pampa-San Luis;
 - Cuyo (San Juan, Mendoza and La Rioja);
 - Corrientes-Misiones;
 - Chaco-Formosa;
 - Entre Ríos;
 - NOA South (Tucumán, Catamarca and Santiago del Estero); and
 - NOA North (Salta and Jujuy).

Each regional centre was created under a specific SENASA resolution establishing the location of its headquarters.