WORLD TRADE

ORGANIZATION

G/SPS/GEN/27/Rev.2

9 March 1998

(98-0907)

Committee on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures

IMPLEMENTATION OF THE TRANSPARENCY OBLIGATIONS AS OF 6 MARCH 1998

Note by the Secretariat

Revision

The following table indicates the information available to the Secretariat regarding which WTO Members have (1) notified an enquiry point as provided in paragraph 3 of Annex B of the SPS Agreement and (2) identified their national notification authority as provided in paragraph 10 of Annex B of the Agreement as of 6 March 1998. Governments with observer status which have notified a national enquiry point and/or a national notification authority are also included in this table.

	Has Notified SPS:	
WTO Member	Enquiry Point	National Notification Authority*
Angola ¹		
Antigua and Barbuda	Х	Х
Argentina	Х	Х
Australia	Х	X
Austria	Х	EC
Bahrain		
Bangaladesh ¹	Х	
Barbados		
Belgium	Х	EC
Belize	Х	X
Benin ¹		
Bolivia	Х	X
Botswana	Х	X
Brazil	Х	X

	Has Notified SPS:	
WTO Member	Enquiry Point	National Notification Authority*
Brunei Darussalam	Х	X
Bulgaria	Х	X
Burkina Faso ¹	Х	
Burundi ¹		
Cameroon		
Canada	Х	X
Central African (Rep.) ¹		
Chad ¹		
Chile	Х	X
China ²	Х	
Colombia	Х	X
Congo		
Congo, Democratic Rep. of ¹		
Costa Rica	Х	X
Côte d'Ivoire		
Cuba	Х	X
Cyprus	Х	X
Czech Republic	Х	X
Denmark	Х	EC
Djibouti ¹		
Dominica		
Dominican Republic	Х	X
Ecuador	Х	X
Egypt	Х	X
El Salvador	Х	X
European Communities	Х	X
Estonia ²	Х	
Fiji	Х	X
Finland	Х	EC

	Has Notified SPS:	
WTO Member	Enquiry Point	National Notification Authority*
France	X	EC
Gabon	X	
Gambia ¹		
Germany	X	EC
Ghana	X	
Greece	X	EC
Grenada		
Guatemala	Х	X
Guinea, Rep. of ¹		
Guinea Bissau ¹		
Guyana		
Haiti ¹		X
Honduras	Х	X
Hong Kong, China	Х	X
Hungary	X	X
Iceland	X	X
India	Х	X
Indonesia	X	X
Ireland	Х	EC
Israel	X	X
Italy	X	EC
Jamaica	X	X
Japan	X	X
Kenya	X	X
Korea	X	X
Kuwait		
Lesotho ¹		
Liechtenstein	X	X
Luxembourg	Х	EC

	Has Notified SPS:	
WTO Member	Enquiry Point	National Notification Authority*
Macau	Х	X
Madagascar ¹		X
Malawi ¹	Х	
Malaysia	Х	X
Maldives ¹		
Mali ¹		
Malta	Х	X
Mauritania ¹		
Mauritius	Х	X
Mexico	X	X
Mongolia		
Morocco	Х	X
Mozambique ¹		
Myanmar ¹	Х	X
Namibia		
Netherlands	Х	EC
New Zealand	X	X
Nicaragua	X	X
Niger ¹		
Nigeria		
Norway	Х	X
Pakistan	Х	X
Panama		
Papua New Guinea	Х	X
Paraguay	Х	X
Peru	X	X
Philippines	X	X
Poland	X	X
Portugal	Х	EC

	Has Notified SPS:	
WTO Member	Enquiry Point	National Notification Authority*
Qatar	X	
Romania	Х	X
Rwanda ¹		
Saint Kitts and Nevis		
Saint Lucia	Х	X
Saint Vincent & Gren.		
Senegal	Х	X
Sierra Leone ¹		
Singapore	Х	Х
Slovak Republic	Х	Х
Slovenia	Х	Х
Solomon Islands ¹		
South Africa	Х	X
Spain	Х	EC
Sri Lanka	Х	Х
Suriname		
Swaziland	X	Х
Sweden	Х	EC
Switzerland	Х	Х
Chinese Taipei ²	Х	Х
Tanzania ¹	Х	
Thailand	Х	Х
Togo ¹		
Trinidad and Tobago	X	X
Tunisia	X	Х
Turkey	X	Х
Uganda ¹	X	Х
United Arab Emirates		
United Kingdom	Х	EC

	Has Notified SPS:	
WTO Member	Enquiry Point	National Notification Authority*
United States	Х	Х
Uruguay	Х	Х
Venezuela	Х	Х
Zambia ¹	Х	
Zimbabwe	Х	Х
TOTAL MEMBERS = 132	96	88
of which LLDCs: 29	7	4

*Notifications for member States of the European Communities are made by the EC Commission ("EC").

¹Least-developed countries: obligations under the SPS Agreement apply as of 1 January 2000. ²Observer status